Holding Hands

Lyle has a summer birthday. And around these parts (totally not a phrase Californians use) that can mean holding kids (especially boys) back from starting kindergarten at a young 5 and waiting until they are 6. We decided to do this with Lyle for various reasons. High school athletic advantage being the most important…obviously. So he was eligible for what folks (feeling pretty Texas today) call Transitional Kindergarten. And there are a plethora of schools offering this option. And to say I spent adequate time weighing those options is an understatement. A huge understatement. Thousands of hours comparing locations and hours and friends and snacks and play grounds and teachers and curriculums. And cost. He could have stayed at his preschool for their TK program. Solid option. Or joined Ben at his school. Another solid option. Or he could go to our neighborhood elementary for real kindergarten and have him join Ben next year for a second round of K. We went with this option because it was free. And all day. Just being honest. And we could walk there. Something that we had never been able to do before. And I was really looking forward to.

I analyzed this decision a thousand ways this summer. Stressing about class size and getting plugged into another school and my mind exploding because all three of my kids have picture day at different times. No chance I am going to nail that one. But we are settling in to our morning routine which involves Greg and Ben leaving for school around 7:45, and me having another 45 minutes or so with Lyle and Callum to prepare for the day. Then I bribe Callum to sit in the stroller and we walk Lyle to school. Through the green belt. Under the trees. With neighbors and friends. Holding hands. I have mentioned that Lyle is a physically affectionate and needy little one. And it occurred to me today how precious this time with him is. Hand in hand. Connecting with him in a way that speaks volumes of my love for him. As he sets off for the day. Filled. I am so thankful for this precious time. And our neighborhood school experience.

DSC_0022

