Book reports

I made two new years resolutions.

1. Use reusable grocery bags at the market.
2. Read one book every month this year.

I am giving myself until December 31st to do the first one. And the second I have actually done pretty well with…minus March which was a blur. And I secretly intended to blog about the book each month. But it’s September and that’s not going to happen. But maybe just a word or two about each?

1. What Women Fear by Angie Smith – Scripture and stories to battle fear and anxiety. It was good. But I probably won’t re-read (the sign of a GREAT book for me) so let me know if you want my copy and I will send it to you.

2. Bossypants by Tina Fey – just read it. HILARIOUS.

3. One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voscamp- life changer. I have read and re-read this one. And visit the author’s blog often. And thought for sure she was SOOOOO much older than me with all the (children!) wisdom and righteousness, but ney, she is but a child in her mid thirties.

4. French Kids Eat Everything by Karen Le Billon. This has been really encouraging and challenging as I am trying to turn my picky toddlers into adventurous, food loving, and respectful boys. It addresses common obstacles for kids and food, the French love of food and it’s social and cultural implications, recipes, etc. We are working towards a no snacking, eating together, try one bite, use you manners, worth while conversation and enjoyable eating experience every day. We are 100 years away from that goal. I might move to France to do some research of my own.

5. Book of Mormon Girl by Joanna Brooks – Memoir of a liberal, feminist, Mormon woman (Kelly, did I say that correctly?!?!)…I guess there are not many of those. It was funny. And compelling. And heart breaking. Just plain good.

6. The Baby Whispers Solves All Your Problems by Tracy Hogg – this is my go to guide for baby sleeping and feeding questions.

Hopefully I will have four more before the end of the year. Suggestions?!?!

One thought on “Book reports

Comments are closed.