Texas

Callum and I took a little trip to Houston this week for my brother’s fiancé’s wedding shower.

I took my camera, but somehow this is the only picture I have to show for the long weekend. Happy Callum getting ready for his first flight. And a happy me because there was an empty seat in our row so he got to fly, and sleep in the comfort of his car seat for three hours while I watched movies and worked on my computer.

The shower was fabulous. Having one child for 5 days was a treat. Callum did not need to cry for anything. All his needs were met with in seconds. And he was very appreciative.

I caught up with old friends in The Woodlands. And it was as if no time had passed. I can’t believe it had been 4 years since I was last there. The trees seemed bigger. And the sky bluer. Greg asked if I wanted to move back after being there for a few days, and I paused before I answered. You all know I complain about the over population and over development of Orange County from time to time. And the chaos around us at all times. And my desire to get away. And I could have, and literally did get lost in those 1000 year old pine trees Saturday afternoon.

I do believe Southern California is home now. It has been for a while. Maybe since we bought our house 7 years ago. Or brought our first baby home from the hospital here. But I do know that I don’t want to wait another 4 years before visiting my home town again. And I might be asking Greg if we can move to Irvine….the closest thing to The Woodlands on the west coast.

One thought on “Texas

  1. Oh, I know the feeling! I just had a similar trip to Florida and just loved being there with old friends and family. I think frequent visits are the way to go as I’m pretty cozy here in New England. Love that airplane picture and miss you guys like crazy!

Comments are closed.