my reality

i just spent the last 10 minutes writing a post about what a tough transition it has been to three kids. then realized that i’ve already written that same post at least two times in the last two months.

COME ON LINDSAY. it’s rally time. you can do this. for the next 15 years. YOU CAN DO THIS!!!! THEY ARE CHILDREN. THEY WILL NOT WIN. WITH ALL THEIR CRYING AND COMPLAINING. THEY WILL BE GRATEFUL…ONE DAY. THEY WILL THANK YOU. THEY WILL LEARN TO CHEW WITH THEIR MOUTH’S SHUT. THEY WILL KNOW JESUS. AND LOVE OTHERS. AND POOP ON THE TOILET INSTEAD OF IN THEIR UNDERWEAR….LYLE WHAT IS IT GOING TO TAKE DUDE?!?!

still hanging on by a thread. almost missed lyle’s birthday. TK burger for father’s day dinner. coffee in the early hours has become a necessity…and it’s not quite cutting it.

lyle’s birthday present…a bike, thankfully handed down to us by a friend last night or we’d have had nothing for him this morning. (i snagged a thomas the train roundhouse and turn table off craigs list last week but lyle was with me for the pick up so i just let him have it and said it was his birthday present…poor judgement. that’s not fun at all for a three year old when he actually wakes up the morning of this birthday.)

and callum can just about roll over.

and ben wears this headset pretty much all the time now. he says it’s part of his rescue pilot equipment, but i’m pretty sure he’s just trying to further tune me out. we have hit a bump in the road in our relationship and i am at a loss for how to repair it. seeking professional help soon.

2 thoughts on “my reality

  1. Hi Lindsay,
    Barbara told me about your blog. Love seeing pics of the children! Sorry to hear about the break in but have encouraging words for your loss. We were burgled years back and all my antique jewelry was taken along with my pearls and other things. I made the police report and gave them copies of drawings I had made of the antique pieces and a list of the other missing items. Almost three months later the guy was arrested for parole violation and I got everything back except a small art deco diamond ring! My favorites—a Victorian cameo ring and Scottish bloodstone seal ring—were still in the bag he stole from me to carry my things away! Hoping your missing jewelry has the same luck finding its way back home!
    My best to all of you,
    Aunt Bobbie

  2. Lindsay…I love your blog! Reminds me of when we had 3 all a year apart. I can tell you it will pass. Unfortunately the problems you have now will seems so easy compared to what will come (drugs, girlfriends, college…). I just saw Terms of Endearment again yesterday and there is a scene where the mom is dying and the oldest son has been a real toot to his mom. It so reminded me of your comment. She says I know you love me and later on you will remember it. It goes on and on, but bottom line, your kids love you even when they don’t show it or for that matter, seem to hate you. And yes, I have been told the dreaded “I hate you” line. Numerous times. Girls use it much more on their moms. I would think, I NEVER said that to my mom, but I have a much more open relationship to my kids. They tell me things sometimes, I don’t want to know! This all will pass and then the next thing comes along. Just smile and sip your coffee and know you are loved.

Comments are closed.