the baby is coming

Don’t worry. I am not in labor yet. But something has definitely shifted in my mind the last couple days. I am over being pregnant and ready to welcome this little one into the world. It has taken 9 months to get here, but I do feel like I am finally in a good place. Thank you for all your faithful prayers. (it also has become clear that Ben and Lyle are NOT ready…but that’s a topic for another day). Albeit a neurotic place…that has officially moved from productive nesting to just pushing my luck and probably steering me towards crazy. The baby clothes are washed and folded. The crib is back in the nursery. The accent wall has been painted the perfect color of calming light grey.

But for some reason I woke up Monday morning and any and all house projects that have been on my to do / wish list all felt URGENT and NECESSARY and needed to be started IMMEDIATELY. And these are things that have been on my to do list for YEARS. ie….professional window washing…scheduled for tomorrow. This hasn’t been done in 7 years. Paint the kitchen…on the list for 11 months. Happening next Wednesday. Replace seal on master bath shower glass…calling about that one tomorrow. Those funky spots on our dining room windows, got the warranty in my hand and am calling in the morning. New carpet….finally picked a color, after 4 years and am trying to schedule installation in the next two weeks. Because the baby is coming in 3. And I think he is expecting new carpet. To spit up on.

Subconsciously I think nesting has to do with knowing you are going to be spending more time at home (surviving) than usual and wanting your environment to be just right. Or at least it does for me.

On an unrelated note (yet related to the crazyland I am headed towards), the month of March is totally out of control on my calendar. I have about 10 commitments scheduled everyday for the next three weeks. Birthday parties, baby showers, fabulous friends visiting, nights out, dinner with friends, snacks, share days, soccer, oh my goodness. Where as I usually add things to my calendar even if they are in the past to make me feel more productive, I have taken to deleting stuff off my calendar at the end of the day so I don’t freak out about everything that I tried to do. I need to take a couple deep breaths. And then do our taxes. And finish Lyle’s baby book…

One thought on “the baby is coming

Comments are closed.