walking worthy of the calling…

the sermon at church today was titled “walking worthy of the calling” and focused on Ephesians 4:1 in which Paul says, “as a prisoner of the Lord, I urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling with which you have been called.”

sometimes i struggle with my calling. what IS my calling? i want to be great at a lot of things. a great friend. a great mom. a great wife and homemaker. a great entertainer. a great writer. a great cook. a great bible teacher. a great Christian. but i find people that are so talented at all those things and compare myself to them to the point that i always fall short. and i feel inadequate. and is that even what God is calling me to? these visions of greatness, fame and fortune? b/c really…i have a vision of making a fortune as a homemaker!

i was reminded of my inadequacies today….on so many fronts. and it took me to a sad place. a sad place where i didn’t love myself. i didn’t love what God had given me.

and then i meditated on the words of Paul….in the first three chapters of Ephesians we learn that God chose us before the creation of the world, that he adopted us as his sons and daughters, that he gave us his Son, he forgave our sins past and present, the planned eternity for us, he reconciled us to each other…

how then shall we live? in light of what God has given us…i have not (necessarily) been called to be significant in this world (or on the internet). outside of my home. and community. but i can be significant in my home. with my family. and my friends. i can love. and serve. and encourage. and just be. here. present. with them. and God.

Lord, i want to glorify you. i don’t want to squander what you have given me. i want to be a good steward of the abundant gift you have given me. grace. grace. God’s grace…

