…and they hid

When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleaseing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining widsom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realized they were naked; so they sewd fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves. Then the man and his wife heard the sounds of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of he day, and they hid from the Lord God….Genesis 3:6-8

This morning, Ben and I were having a disagreement as to what was for breakfast. He wanted pancakes and I was making fruit smoothies and granola. He kept asking for pancakes, and I started getting fruit out of the freezer. So he got the pancake mix out of the pantry. To which I kindly asked him to put it back. I turned back to the fridge to get more smoothie ingredients, and saw him with the box in his hand out of the corner of my eye and he said, “mom. don’t look over here. mom. don’t look at me. don’t turn around.” I paused for a second, wondering if he was just going to try to take matters into his own hands and make some pancakes. But then turned around completely to find a box worth of pancake mix spilled all over the kitchen floor.

This is not the first time he has done something the he knows will upset me, and tried to hide from it, asking me not to look at him…because he knows he is guilty. Obviously this was an accident, but I had asked him more than once to put the mix away and he didn’t. And then it landed all over the floor. It is as if he thinks if I don’t see, it didn’t happen, or there won’t be consequences.

And this morning in particular this reminded me of the Garden of Eden and how Adam and Eve felt the need to hide after they ate the forbidden fruit, knowing God would be upset. And how I feel like hiding some days. Hiding from God. Covering myself. Pretending to be something I’m not.

But in all our guilt, God demonstrates His unfailing love for us. I tried my best to explain to Ben that every time I see him I love him. Even if I see something that is not pleasing to God. And that God sees all and loves us so much. And if he spills pancake mix on my clean floor again he will never, ever have pancakes again ;)

